In Phoenix, Arizona, there are only a few restaurants that are catered to just Vegan dining, such as True Food Kitchen and Loving Hut. While these are really amazing places, I especially enjoy True Food Kitchen, they are some what out of the way. I live in Glendale, Arizona, so it is a drive to go to these locations. Well, when I go to a restaurant in the Glendale area, I try to make sure the restaurant will be able to accomandize toward my vegan diet.
Last night my family and I went to BJs Restaurant. Here are the things I did to make sure the restaurant made my meal fit my diet:
I looked at BJs Restaurant website to see what vegetarian meals they have. You can always call the restaurant if they don’t have a website. Here are my choices:
Garden Medley without feta cheese.
Angel Hair Toscana, without Parmasean and feta cheese.
Mediterranean Vegetable Pasta without Parmasean cheese
I opted for the Garden Medley Salad. Why? Well, for one am having pasta over the weekend, and I had my No Meat Sloppy Joe for lunch. Also, for the pasta I wasn’t for certain if they used oil or butter in their pasta. I will have to ask that next time.
When ordering, I told the server without feta cheese. I also, let them know that I am vegan. This will the server understand,and maybe make some adjustments to the dinner of let you know if there are ingredients we should be concerned about.
Enjoy the meal!
For my previous recipes like the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie with Cake Mix and Peppermint Hot Chocolate, of course the main ingredient being chocolate. Now, being vegan one would think it would be difficult to find chocolate not containing any milk. This is highly untrue. Actually, you can find chocolate that is suited to vegans just as long as you look at the ingredients. Let me explain what you need to look for.
- In the Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa, the only ingredient is cocoa. You are safe there because you add the kind of milk you want, for instance, I added almond milk. Now, Nestlé cocoa powder it contains non fat milk, which is a no no to vegans.
- When looking at chocolate bars or chocolate chips, you need to do the same think for when looking for the cocoa. The most common type chocolate you will be able to use is dark chocolate. Dark chocolate generally contains no or less milk; however, you will need to find ones that contain no milk. You can use semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate when baking. Just make sure to check the ingredients. Now, when just eating plain chocolate bars, I found that Lindt makes a 70% dark chocolate bar that is actually vegan.
Did you know that Dark Chocolate is actually better for? Well, it is good for you in moderation. Dark Chocolate actually helps to decrease your appetitate. You will be less eager to eat other sugars or salty foods.
Fun Vegan Fact: When watching Get Vegucated, I learned that Oreos are actually vegan. The filling contains a soy letchin, instead of milk. You will want to eat the regulars instead of the vanilla. And again, in moderation.
If you are considering in going vegan, I recommend in watching Get Vegucated. It is a short documentary about 3 people going from eating animal products to a vegan diet. You will learn the different changes your body goes through, and also learn about the animal product based industry.
I have been on a vegan diet for about 4 months, and I can tell you I feel completely different compared to before. I have more energy. I am not as grumpy. I have a positive attitude. And I am a lot more creative.
Check out getvegucated.com, and please feel free to share how you feel or have concerns about converting to a vegan diet. I know it is a huge lifestyle change, but it will be beneficial to everyone. 🙂
I am so excited to be starting my own blog. 🙂 I will be contributing not only recipes, but also stuff I find inspiring. I am looking forward to hearing what you all think.
Thank you for being a part of this exciting adventure.